°C
David Darrault
David Darrault
David Darrault
David Darrault
David Darrault
+See the full-screen image

L’Indre à vélo

“L’Indre à vélo” is a cycling trail of over 200 km alongside the River Indre and divided into 13 stages. See our selection of two bucolic sections along the country roads between Azay-le-Rideau and Truyes.

In the footsteps of Balzac, from Azay-le-Rideau to Monts

Azay-Rideau is linked to La Loire à vélo cycling trail from Bréhémont and Villandry. Leaving from Azay-le-Rideau, a 17 km section goes to the town of Monts along the Indre valley.

The section includes a stop in the troglodyte Goupillères valley and at the Château de Saché, where Balzac regularly stayed as a guest. The residence and the landscapes alongside the River Indre had a strong influence on his novel The Lily of the Valley.

Further on, near Pont-Ruan, don’t miss the three watermills, known as”Balzac’s mills”. On the road to Artannes, you will pass in front of the Manoir de l’Alouette a manor house with corbelled towers and mentioned by the author of the Comédie Humaine.

Before arriving in Monts, you make your way along the banks of the River Indre on an attractive tree-lined road. Here you will see the Moulin des Fleuriaux, a windmill with a stone bridge and a square pink tower dating from the 18th century.

The land of the Black Falcon, between Monts and Truyes

This is a 19 km section taking you from Monts to Truyes via the villages of Montbazon, Veigné and Esvres. As you leave Monts, you pass close to the Château d’Artigny, the former residence of the perfumer François Coty. The château was redesigned in the 19th century. Don’t miss the fortress of Montbazon, built on a rocky spur by the Black Falcon before 1000 AD. The square keep can be seen from a distance with its immense copper statue of the Virgin Mary.

Take the old medieval road to the village of Veigné. A little further on, the Martinière arboretum includes a 4-hectare botanical park around two lakes. It features an impressive collection of trees and bushes, as well as around one hundred species of bamboo.

In Esvres, you can see the Bollée windmill, built in the late 19th century to supply water to the Château de la Villaine, standing opposite.

The section ends in Truyes, where visitors can see the Château de Bel Air, built in the 1920s. It stands in a park of over two hectares with French-style gardens, a large reflecting pool, a rock garden and an English-style garden.

Discover the itineraries by clicking here

 

Culture & patrimoineNature
Retour
Your Favorites

    You have not yet added a form to your travel diary

    Send the list of the favorites by mail

    Your browser is not compatible with the travel diary.

    If the private browsing mode is activated, it must be switched off.

    Receive the list of your favorites by email.

    --- Wind : -- km/h Humidity : -- %
    °C
    --°C - --°C
    Night --°C
    Morning --°C
    Afternoon --°C
    Night --°C
    --- Wind : -- km/h Humidity : -- %
    °C
    --°C - --°C
    Night --°C
    Morning --°C
    Afternoon --°C
    Night --°C
    --- Wind : -- km/h Humidity : -- %
    °C
    --- - ---
    Night --°C
    Morning --°C
    Afternoon --°C
    Night --°C
    --- Wind : --- km/h Humidity : --- %
    °C
    --°C - --°C
    Night --°C
    Morning --°C
    Afternoon --°C
    Night --°C
    1 / 7

    Détente

    Gourmandise

    Barque à fond plat

    Médiévales

    Spectacle de danse

    Que d'eau

    Grand dehors

    I like less I like

°C
David Darrault
David Darrault
David Darrault
David Darrault
David Darrault
+Voir l'image en plein écran

L’Indre à vélo

L’Indre à vélo présente un itinéraire cyclable de plus de 200 km échelonné sur 13 étapes le long de la rivière l’Indre. Découvrez notre sélection de deux tronçons bucoliques sur des routes de campagne, entre Azay-le-Rideau et Truyes.

Sur les pas de Balzac, d’Azay-le-Rideau à Monts

Azay-Rideau est connecté à La Loire à vélo depuis Bréhémont et Villandry. Au départ d’Azay-le-Rideau, un itinéraire de 17 km rejoint la commune de Monts à travers la vallée de l’Indre.

Le circuit permet une halte à la vallée troglodytique des Goupillères et au château de Saché où Balzac séjournait régulièrement. Le logis et les paysages des bords de l’Indre l’ont fortement inspiré pour son roman Le Lys dans la vallée.

Plus loin du côté de Pont-Ruan, ne manquez pas les trois moulins à eau, dits « les moulins de Balzac ». Sur la route qui mène à Artannes, vous passez devant le manoir de l’Alouette avec ses deux tourelles à encorbellement, évoqué par l’auteur de la Comédie humaine.

Avant d’arriver à Monts, vous cheminez sur les bords de l’Indre par une jolie route boisée le long de laquelle le Moulin des Fleuriaux avec son pont de pierre dévoile une tour carrée à crépi rose, du 18e siècle.

Les terres du Faucon Noir, entre Monts et Truyes

Cette étape de 19 km vous conduit de Monts à Truyes en passant par les villages de Montbazon, Veigné et Esvres. En quittant Monts, vous passez près du château d’Artigny, ancienne demeure du parfumeur François Coty remaniée au 19e siècle. Ne manquez pas la forteresse de Montbazon construite sur un éperon rocheux par le Faucon Noir peu avant l’an mil. Son donjon carré est signalé au loin par une immense Vierge en cuivre.

Empruntez l’ancienne voie médiévale qui rejoint le village de Veigné. Un peu plus loin, l’arboretum de la Martinière réserve un parc botanique de 4 hectares autour de deux étangs. Il abrite une collection d’arbre et arbuste ainsi qu’une centaine d’espèces de bambous.

À Esvres, remarquez l’éolienne Bollée construite à la fin du 19e siècle pour alimenter en eau le château de la Villaine qui lui fait face.

L’étape se termine à Truyes, où le château de Bel Air édifié dans les années vingt dévoile un parc de plus de 2 hectares avec jardins à la française, grand bassin miroir, rocaille et parc à l’anglaise.

 

Culture & patrimoineNature
Retour
Vos Favoris

    Vous n‘avez pas encore ajouté de fiche à votre carnet de voyage

    Envoyer la liste des favoris par mail

    Votre navigateur est incompatible avec le carnet de voyage.

    Si le mode navigation privée est activé, il faut le désactiver.

    Recevez la liste de vos envies par mail.

    --- Vent : -- km/h Humidité : -- %
    °C
    --°C - --°C
    Nuit --°C
    Matin --°C
    Après-midi --°C
    Soirée --°C
    --- Vent : -- km/h Humidité : -- %
    °C
    --°C - --°C
    Nuit --°C
    Matin --°C
    Après-midi --°C
    Soirée --°C
    --- Vent : -- km/h Humidité : -- %
    °C
    --- - ---
    Nuit --°C
    Matin --°C
    Après-midi --°C
    Soirée --°C
    --- Vent : --- km/h Humidité : --- %
    °C
    --°C - --°C
    Nuit --°C
    Matin --°C
    Après-midi --°C
    Soirée --°C
    1 / 7
    Good match

    Un séjour à votre image

    Selon vos choix, nous vous proposerons des offres adaptées à vos envies

    Détente

    Gourmandise

    Barque à fond plat

    Médiévales

    Spectacle de danse

    Que d'eau

    Grand dehors

    J'aime moins J'adore